Marriage Licenses may be obtained from 8:30 am - 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday except for legal holidays, at the Lafayette Parish Courthouse located at
800 South Buchanan Street, Lafayette, La 70501.
Your marriage license is one of the most important documents you will purchase during your lifetime. It establishes the legal validity of your marriage.
Marriage ceremonies using marriage licenses purchased in Louisiana must be performed in Louisiana. Marriages are recorded in the parish where the license was issued.
Only one party is required to come in to purchase the marriage license, providing they present all the documentation for both parties.
The marriage department is responsible for issuing Marriage Licenses. Pursuant to applicable Louisiana Statutes, applicants for a Marriage License must provide items 1 through 6:
1. Marriage Application/Affidavit
A marriage application must be completed, sworn to and signed by both parties before a notary public or deputy clerk. This form is available in our office and online.
The marriage application can be downloaded by clicking HERE.
Applicants must present a valid and unexpired driver's license, a government issued identification card, or a valid and unexpired passport from the country of their birth or an unexpired visa accompanied by Form I-94.
3. Birth Certificates/Birth Cards
If applicants are born in the United States or a U.S. territory they must present a certified copy of their birth certificate or birth card. Louisiana birth certificates or birth cards are available in our office. See link to the right for more information.
Applicants who are foreign born must present a certified copy of their foreign birth certificate along with a certified English translation. In addition, they must also present their valid and unexpired passport or an unexpired visa with
A photocopy of these birth records must be retained by the Clerk of Court. You may provide us with a copy. If one is not provided by the couple, the marriage clerk will copy each record at a $1.00 fee per page.
4. Prior Marriages/Documentation
If you were previously married, you must show proof of how the marriage ended; either with a certified divorce judgment or certified death certificate. Certified copies of foreign documents must be translated into English by a certified translator.
5. Social Security Numbers
Social Security numbers must be provided by law. If an applicant does not have a U.S. Social Security number, they must appear in person at the time of application and present their valid and unexpired foreign passport or a valid and unexpired visa along with Form I-94. An affidavit, stating they do not have a U.S. Social Security number, must be signed by the applicant and witnessed by the marriage clerk.
6. Fees (Payment must be made in cash)
The marriage license fee is $27.50 plus $4.00 per page for each attachment, which includes applications, affidavits, waivers, parental consent forms etc.
A certified copy of the marriage license is $1.00 per page and $5.00 to certify. If this fee is paid when the marriage license is purchased, you will receive the certified copy by mail once the legal document has been recorded.
To purchase a marriage license, you must be of majority age, which is 18 years old. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, both parents must be present with identification and must sign a consent form. If under the age of 16, in addition to the above requirements, a Court Order is needed.
The marriage license must be purchased at least 72 hours before the ceremony, but no more than 30 days before. The license is good for 30 days only. It will expire 30 days from date and time of purchase.
State law (CC Art. 90) prohibits the marriage of persons who are related by blood or adoption within the fourth degree collateral.
Blood tests are no longer required to purchase a marriage license.
For any other questions, please call the Marriage Department at 337-291-6335.
Covenant Marriage Act
Contracting a Covenant Marriage
couple who chooses to enter into a Covenant Marriage agrees to be bound by two serious
limitations on obtaining a divorce or separation. These limitations do not apply to other
couples married in Louisiana:
couple legally agrees to seek marital counseling if problems develop during the marriage;
couple can only seek a divorce or legal separation for limited reasons, as explained
DECLARATION OF INTENT
to enter into a Covenant Marriage, the couple must sign a recitation that provides:
marriage is an agreement to live together as husband and wife forever;
parties have chosen each other carefully and disclosed to each other "everything
which could adversely affect" the decision to marry;
parties have received premarital counseling;
commitment that if the parties experience marital difficulties they commit to take all
reasonable efforts to preserve their marriage, including marital counseling; and
couple must also obtain premarital counseling from a priest, minister, rabbi or similar
clergyman of any religious sect, or a professional marriage counselor.
discussing the meaning of a Covenant Marriage with the counselor, the couple must also
sign, together with an attestation by the counselor, a notarized affidavit to the effect
that the counselor has discussed with them:
seriousness of a Covenant Marriage;
- That the
commitment to the marriage is for life;
obligation of the couple to seek marital counseling if problems arise in their marriage;
- That they
have received the informational pamphlet published by the Attorney General entitled
"Covenant Marriage Act."
documents which comprise the Declaration of Intent - the recitation and the affidavit with
attestation - must be presented to the official who issues the marriage license with the
couple's application for a marriage license.
The Declaration of Intent can be downloaded by clicking HERE.
LEGAL SEPARATION IN A COVENANT MARRIAGE
to obtain a legal separation (which is not a divorce and therefore does not end the
marriage), a spouse to a Covenant Marriage must first obtain counseling and then must
by the other spouse;